Home > Edward Herrmann (Richard Gilmore) > Edward Herrmann Passes Away at 71

Edward Herrmann Passes Away at 71

herrmannI’m at an utter loss to express my sadness over the passing of Edward Herrmann. I’d taken then week off, and the first time I came back online this morning I see this…

I only spoke to him a few times by phone and email during the writing of the book, but it was enough for me to say that he was probably the most intelligent, best-educated person I’ve ever spoken with. Yet these attributes were clothed in a humor and humility that utterly charmed.

When he agreed to write the forward to The Gilmore Girls Companion, I was less excited by the prospect of having one of the fine actors involved in that program introducing the book than by being able to read the man’s recollections of Gilmore Girls in his own words. As it turned out he wrote as he spoke – really like Richard Gilmore spoke – eloquently.

I will be publishing one of my longer interviews with him in full here next week (once I locate it) so that you all can get a better idea of what I mean.

You were a man among men, Mr. Herrmann. And you were loved.

-Aaron

  1. mnaraine2013
    January 2, 2015 at 11:13 am

    Beautifully put. He will be greatly missed by all the fans.

  2. January 2, 2015 at 11:50 am

    Yeah, his death was a bit of a shock. I’m very glad he’s part of your book, Aaron!

  3. Aaron
    January 2, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    Thank you both – still can’t quite get over it….

  4. Mary Frances (GGFanCanada)
    January 6, 2015 at 11:05 am

    When I saw the news of Edward Hermann’s death, I immediately thought of you because I am currently reading “The Gilmore Girls Companion” and particularly enjoyed Mr. Hermann’s foreword to your book. He will be missed by many generations of fans; my 13-year-daughter was very sad when I told her the news, as she was raised with watching (and re-watching) Gilmore Girls on an annual basis.

    • Aaron
      January 6, 2015 at 11:19 am

      Thank you for sharing that, Mary. I think for many, many Gilmore fans he was almost like a member of the family, a grandfather through whom they could understand their own grandfathers better. It’s such a strange quirk of human nature that we never truly feel comfortable expressing our love for artists like Mr. Herrmann until they’re no longer around to hear it…

  5. January 7, 2015 at 12:53 pm

    Aaron, So heartbroken over Ed’s passing. He was not only an amazingly talented actor and consummate professional but also a dear friend and mentor. I feel so blessed to have known him. I will forever cherish the memories of our time together on Gilmore Girls. Looking forward to your interview.
    Patty Malcolm

    • Aaron
      January 7, 2015 at 3:01 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, Patty. I hope to be posting that interview in a PDF format on the site a bit later in the week – the formatting’s been giving me some problems. (For those who don’t know, Patty is the awesome person who was Lauren Graham’s stand-in throughout Gilmore Girls, and just a wonderful human being all around.)

  6. Aaron
    January 7, 2015 at 5:40 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

