Home > Gilmore Girls Revisited > ‘Gilmore Girls’ Revisited Vol. 8: Luke’s Cap

‘Gilmore Girls’ Revisited Vol. 8: Luke’s Cap

Arieanna over at GilmoreNews.com discusses the significance that Lorelai places on Luke finally wearing the cap she bought him back in Season 1 in the episode 7.20 “Lorelai? Lorelai?” As noted in The Gilmore Girls Companion, it becomes to her a barometer for how she thinks he’s feeling toward her after their extremely awkward split.

Though this idea was really only touched upon in that Season 7 episode, it’s an example of a character detail the post-Amy & Dan contingent came up with on their own, and one that made perfect sense for the characters involved. (That said, the punch line — that Luke was only wearing the hat because he had misplaced the one he usually wears, was a tad too sitcom-like for Gilmore, I think.)

Though for many Season 7 will always be marred by the fact that the creator of the series was gone from the process, it nevertheless remains an interesting year of television, and one that I think people will come to better appreciate as time passes.

What do you think?

  1. David
    June 6, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    If the reason for changing hats was pragmatic there would still have been a number of headcovering possibilities to choose from. Would Luke consciously think about objects in the same way as Lorelai and she did read the Emily’s pudding wrong once didn’t she?

    As for series 7 I tend to agree. I knew nothing about the writers or the series just that I was hooked on this new discovery which was around series 6 when I got into it (it’s all the fault of the series record option on my PVR). I read about it before series 7 came around though and was hesitant to even watch it, but was pleasantly surprised and it has some fine moments. I don’t think I’d have known it was different if I’d not read up on it and actually season 6 dragged for me as the Lorelai/Rory nexus was absent for too long.

    • June 6, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      An interesting question, David. I would suggest that Lorelai actually read the Emily/pudding signal correctly, but that Emily’s actions were actually a bit on the subconscious side. The serving of pudding was Emily’s way of reaching out to Lorelai and Rory, and ultimately Emily did seem to have relaxed her attitude toward them by episode’s end. It is these types of character nuances that make the “Luke misplaced his cap” explanation seem a little less Gilmore and a little more sitcom-y to me. But then again, after spending years studying the show’s every detail for the book, it could be that I’m just reading WAY too much into all of this…

      • David
        June 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm

        Lorelai did ‘read’ the pudding as being a conscious thing on Emily’s part didn’t she? And Emily did seem to deny all knowledge later in which case it wasn’t conscious. However the whole family seem to deny their actions’ emotional content when faced directly with them and Lorelai certainly did not explain the pudding reference so Emily may just have been confused by the question as she said and you may well be right.

        I do agree that finding the hat was clunky, but needed you to identify it as a punchline.

        By the way I believe ‘pudding’ means something different to you in the States than to us in the UK. Here it means the sweet course following the main in this context. For you I believe it’s a particular kind of dish. So for me they have pudding every Friday though I got the reference (even without the accent).

  2. June 14, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Well reasoned, David. Though Emily may indeed have been unaware of her “pudding” olive branch (how’s that for metaphors?), it’s pretty likely that she would play dumb and refuse to acknowledge that she had been playing nice if Lorelai confronted her with it directly, simply because she was brought up to keep everything on a formal level — you certainly don’t explain your motivations to your daughter.

    And if you’re going to add the whole British English to American English disconnect, I’ll bet you could have a good old time with this show. (I’m thinking “pudding” probably translates to something like “custard” in the UK, but I certainly defer to you and the fans in Great Britain on that.)

  3. David
    June 20, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Off topic, but not knowing another way to sneak the information in here – have just ordered a copy of 30 Years of British Television. I think it will be interesting to see your take on a period I lived through as you have interesting things to say about the Gilmore Girls and got a lot from interviews in the companion. Not sure the golden age started in the 70’s though having just watched Honor Blackman in series 3 of The Avengers, but you’ve got to draw the line somewhere, I get that.

    • June 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Hi David. That’s very kind of you — I hope it meets your expectations. I hasten to add it was my first book, and features Q&A interviews with several British TV stars from the relevant periods, based on a magazine I started with a friend on the subject. All of which is probably WAY too much backstory 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

