Home > Sean Gunn (Kirk) > ‘Gilmore Girls’ Revisited Vol. 2: Was Kirk Over the Top?

‘Gilmore Girls’ Revisited Vol. 2: Was Kirk Over the Top?


GilmoreNews.com revisits the show this week by asking if Sean Gunn’s assessment of his performance related in The Gilmore Girls Companion is a fair one — did Kirk become too “over the top” as the series went on?

[Note: Whenever the topic of Sean Gunn comes up, my instant response is to refer people to his performance in John Cabrera’s effective short film “The Man Who Invented the Moon” above. Never one to break with tradition, I would suggest watching that movie today.]

While I think there was always a feeling in the writers room that, if a scene wasn’t working, you threw Kirk into it, I don’t think the character was ever over-used. (I realize this is not a view shared by everybody.)

I thought I’d take this opportunity to share a little more from my interview with Sean that didn’t make it into the book.

First, in answer to those who don’t quite understand why his favorite scene to shoot was in “A-Tisket, A-Tasket” (2.13), he had this to say:

“I feel like I probably would go with the basket scene just because it’s my pet favorite, and it’s the one I think that people who know the whole body of my work on the show might not guess, because it’s not particularly flashy, but I love it. And I remember working really hard on it and watching it and feeling like it really worked. All my big episodes are so much fun to me….

The basket scene might be my favorite, but if I had to put one into a time capsule, I’d probably put in me singing “Do You Love Me” in Fiddler on the Roof [5.15], because it strikes this really weird tone where it’s ridiculous and you can laugh at me, but be sort of sad about what’s going on between the main characters at the same time. To me, there was no doubt that Kirk would be giving his all.”

The second bit came in response to a discussion we had about fame and getting noticed as a result of his time on Gilmore Girls.

“When you get to my level, it’s pretty much always nice. There were maybe two times where it ever got overly crazy…

[One was when] I went to a baseball game with my parents in Missouri and it was at the height of the show’s popularity probably, around the end of season four or something, and I just got mobbed by 14-year-old girls. And then we all went out for ice cream afterward. There it got a little bit too much but I still kind of loved it because it was my first taste of it. But then it subsided.

It was always the kind of thing where people would recognize me once or twice a week. If I was out of town, maybe once a day. But it wasn’t like a bunch of people were coming up to me, it was never that bad. For people who are hugely  famous, yes. I know that Lauren handled this fine, but I don’t think Alexis liked it very much, and I totally get it.”

Finally, though I think even Sean would agree that watching an entire episode involving Kirk would probably try the nerves, I think the character, like Taylor, Miss Patty and all the rest, were instrumental in transforming the simple idea of Stars Hollow into that small-town Shangri-La that so many people are now searching for today.

We salute thee, Kirk Gleason, wherever you are.

  1. February 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    The Fiddler scene was one of my favorites too, great insight!

  2. February 17, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks, Arieanna 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

