Home > Contest, The Gilmore Girls Companion > Contest: Your Thoughts?

Contest: Your Thoughts?

As some of you know, we’ve been working on setting up a contest to allow a couple of people to win copies of The Gilmore Girls Companion. (It’s times like this I wish we had the resources to give away several.) The big question: what’s the best way to give them away?

I want it to be as fair as possible, so it doesn’t make sense to make it about answering some super difficult trivia question. At the same time, it’s pretty hard to do a random selection with email. And if we make it whoever sends in an entry first, people in different time zones have the advantage.

Since we’re having trouble figuring out the best way to give the book away, I thought I’d see what you all think. (Plus it’s an excuse to use WordPress’ poll-creation feature!)

That being the case, please let me know what you think the best way to give away these books would be. If you have an idea you think would be better, please leave it where it says “other.” Thanks for your help 🙂

Update: Just wanted to let you all know that this contest will be in cooperation with a site you’re no doubt all familiar with: Gilmore News. Thanks, Arieanna!

  1. Laurie Carson
    December 30, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I would love a copy of the Gilmore Girls book. I am a true fan and I absolutly love Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel.

  2. December 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

    People will always choose random draw because it requires no work!

    However, I think “Write a short paragraph about how GG should’ve ended” would be fun, even if I’m not the greatest writer (and find it hard to express myself through writing!).

    • December 30, 2010 at 9:11 am

      Ha ha — there is that aspect of a random draw, isn’t there. I suppose we could just drop the names in a hat (or backwards baseball cap, anyway). I think with the paragraph idea, it would be less about the quality of the writing, and more about the originality or appropriateness of the ending. Thank you for your input, Stacey 🙂

  3. Shannon
    December 30, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    The random email drawing is really the only FAIR way. It’s not the most fun, but technically the most fair. If you we write in, then it’s all about personal opinion of whomever is deciding who wins, yes?

    And selfishly, I’m not sure how SHORT my paragraph would be on how GG should have ended. Hahahaha.

    • December 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

      You know, Shannon, I think you’re right. It looks like that’s how we’re going to be leaning, then. However, I’m really liking the idea of hearing how different people think the show should’ve ended. Maybe we could simply spin that off into an elective kind of thing? Anyone interested?

  4. December 31, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    I like the elective component – leave a comment and, if you so choose, write a paragraph about…

    • December 31, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      Sounds like a plan, Arieanna. Hope you’re having a Gilmore new year’s eve 🙂

  5. zoran
    January 3, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I just hope you make the contest “international”.

    • January 3, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      That is certainly the hope, Zoran.

  1. March 4, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

