Home > The Gilmore Girls Companion > Friday Night Dinner 16: The Final Friday?

Friday Night Dinner 16: The Final Friday?

The 16th in a weekly look at the progress of The Gilmore Girls Companion as we round the bend on this 2+ year adventure.

Could it be? Could it be that we’re actually nearing the end of this long adventure in exploring the Good Ship Gilmore? Gang, I think we’re just about there!

This last week has been the “hell week” for me and Pamela as we’ve worked every waking hour finalizing The Gilmore Girls Companion. I just finished the final readthrough last night, as Pamela cleaned up the last bits of the design.

Today, all that remains is transferring the corrections from the paper proofs (two giant binders worth, and nearly 500 pages!) to the computer files, compiling the index and incorporating some last-minute changes from people I’ve contacted for fact-checking, and I daresay we’ll have this book to press by Monday.

For those outside the US

Had some good news from the publisher this week. It turns out that they will also print some copies in Europe and have them available via Amazon there, at least through Amazon.co.uk. (I’m not entirely clear on whether it will go through Amazon.de, etc.). We’ll keep you posted. And please, if you have any trouble finding it there once the book is published, drop me a line at asberman813 (at) gmail.com.

As for those who are not in Europe, drop me a line at the above email address and we’ll sort something out individually. No point spending nearly three years writing a book if the people who want to read it can’t get it πŸ™‚

  1. C.
    November 12, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I hope sooo that this book will make it to Germany!

    • November 12, 2010 at 8:18 am

      One way or the other, we’ll make sure it’s available to whoever would like to read it. Count on that πŸ™‚

  2. Skye
    November 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    So excited ! (: what will the size (height, width) of the book be? For some reason I picture it as a mini flip book, strange, I know.

    • November 13, 2010 at 6:59 am

      Hi Skye. I’ll have to double-check the dimensions, but I’m reasonably certain it’s 9.5 inches x 7.4 inches/24.13 cm x 18.8 cm. I think Pamela mentioned it’s also going to weigh about 2 lbs!

      I can see where the idea of a flip-book would occur to you, considering the orientation of the cover.

      Incidentally, we have a new cover in the works; the first one just wasn’t working for some (though I still like it very much; but what do I know — I’m the word guy).

  3. Lori
    November 12, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    So psyched about the immanent publishing of this long awaited book! I’m so glad I was able to contribute to this book in my small way. I have moved from California to N.Y. and am getting settled back in my parents’ home. (I’m going to be my mother’s caregiver because she has Alzheimer’s.) I really want to get a copy of the book, preferably signed by you if possible. Just let me know how much it costs and how to go about it. Break out Patty’s Founder’s Day Punch! It’s party time! Woo hoo!

    • November 13, 2010 at 6:53 am

      Thank you for your excitement, and your contribution to the book, Lori. I’m sure I speak for everybody when I say we wish you every bit of luck in your new living situation. And continue to watch the blog and/or Facebook page for ordering info. Believe me, after all this time, this is not the type of information we’re going to hesitate in sharing πŸ™‚

  4. Mohammad
    November 13, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Where can I order the book if I live in Canada?

    • November 14, 2010 at 7:19 am

      Hi Mohammad,

      I believe it should be available through Amazon.ca if you don’t want to go through Amazon.com in the US. We’ll have a better idea of where it’s available outside the US once it’s actually published. Keep watching the blog, or join the Facebook page if you’re so inclined, http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/The-Gilmore-Girls-Companion/97936209093. (I’ll send out a mass Facebook message to those on the page once the book is available with ordering info.) Thanks for the question πŸ™‚

  5. zoran
    November 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    The next Friday Night Dinners will be reserved for book reviews then.

    • November 17, 2010 at 2:33 pm

      I think now is probably the time to admit that I’m REALLY nervous about reaction to the book, especially from the fans. That’s why I will only log on to the site after it’s published in a wig, false mustache and dark glasses.

  6. zoran
    November 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Mr. “Wig McMustache” I’m looking out for you!

    • November 17, 2010 at 7:20 pm

      Rats, I shouldn’t have told you which disguise I’d use. I’m really no good at this (santa’s) secret stuff. By the way, anybody want to start the Super Cool Party People club, if only to use Lorelai’s “Super cool party people bid you super cool adieu” ?

  7. Eddie
    November 17, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Im Portuguese but im buying it as soon as it is being sold in Amazon UK.

    Theres a POrtuguese fan site (not mine) where fans gather. http://gilmoregirlsportugal.blogspot.com/

    Get you book banner there. It will surely help book sales (even if by little)

    Thank you for writing the book.
    Ps: I Didnt like the cover too…sorry.

    • November 17, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      Hi Eddie. Thank you for writing; I’m looking forward to checking out the Portuguese site. And no need to apologize about the cover. As it turns out, the art director wasn’t too happy with it either, so she’s working on another one.

      I’m really tempted to start a little map on the blog showing just where Gilmore Girls has fans — I think it’s so neat that we all can share this show. (And yes, there’s a small section in the book about Gilmore around the world. How could there not be?)

  8. Lynn
    November 18, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Just curious if the book has made it to press yet? Been excitedly waiting for this book, cannot wait to read it! Hoping it’s on sale before Christmas, as it will make an excellent gift for a few of my friends who are just as hopelessly addicted to GG as I am!!

    By the way, I think the map idea is a great one! Especially one that has each state in the US, would be interesting to see which state has the largest following of our beloved Gilmore Girls. Keep up the good work on the book, I’m sure everyone is going to love it!!

    • November 18, 2010 at 8:13 am

      Hi Lynn. We’re hoping to have the last bit of production work completed today so we can get it to the publisher tomorrow. There were one or two features in the book that proved so ambitious, they required an extra round of fact-checking to make sure they were as accurate as we could make them.

      Also, the way the book is designed, nearly every episode has one or more sidebars about something that went on behind the scenes. While we’re very excited about this aspect of the book, it also means that whenever we make a change to one part of a chapter, it reflows the text so that right episode no longer lines up with the right sidebar. (You’ll get a better sense of this once we post a couple of sample pages sometime in the next few days.)

      Barring some catastrophe, the book WILL be out in time for Christmas, probably available by the first or second week of December, depending on how many other printing jobs are in the queue in front of our book.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

