Home > The Gilmore Girls Companion > Update on ‘The Gilmore Girls Companion’

Update on ‘The Gilmore Girls Companion’

Hey gang. Aaron here to give you a quick rundown on where we are with The Gilmore Girls Companion.

As of right now, I have 22,939 words written, and still another 10 interviews to transcribe. (Write book or transcribe interviews, write book or transcribe interviews — pretty much the battle that goes on in the ol’ brain every day, in between day job work, of course.) I’m guessing this puts me about 1/3rd of the way through the book.

Yesterday I met with art director, Pamela Norman, to flesh out a rough design for the book, which actually helped me figure out how to include certain material I’d been struggling with before.

What we’re going to end up with is a book that you can open to any page and dive right in. Anyone out there who’s happened to clap eyes on our latest book, The New Horror Handbook, will have some idea of how we intend to have additional information in the margins of the Companion, in addition to the main text. Since people’s lives are so hectic these days, we wanted to make it so you could just open the book for a minute and learn something about the show pretty quickly. (It helps immensely that my own attention span is slightly shorter than Lorelai’s…)

I also wanted to take this opportunity to thank Shannon Triggs and Fred DeRuvo for their generous offers of photos from their own tours of the Stars Hollow exteriors at Warner Brothers, and to thank the great folks who regularly show up at The Gilmore Girls Companion Facebook page for their continued support and peculiar brand of Gilmore insanity. You all rock!

Now, somebody better get back to work if this book is to come out before GG turns 10 (the show, not Chris’ tot).

See you in The Hollow -A

  1. zoran
    November 12, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Nice, nice! And what would be so bad about a 10th anniversary issue? Everybody remembers round numbers better. Just mark Paris’ words concerning the 75th anniversary issue of the Franklin in 3.07 “They Shoot Gilmores, Don’t They?”. So, it might fit, if it weren’t for the people being impatient.

  2. November 12, 2009 at 9:32 am

    “There is only going to be one seventy-fifth anniversary issue ever, and it’s on our watch. We screw this up and we basically mooned a piece of history. Is that what you want? To B.A. history?” 😉

  3. November 12, 2009 at 10:45 am

    If you need help transcribing those interviews … you know where to find me. ;o)
    Yeah, I know that is partially selfish … but concentrate on the ‘good’ part.

    Dying to see the layout ideas.

    I’m glad that the GGC is going to be one of those books that you don’t neccessarily have to read cover-to-cover. I prefer to be able to find interesting facts on every page as I leaf through and then settle on one.

  4. November 12, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I will indeed concentrate on the good part, and it is a kind offer, I thank you. But everything else aside, do I really want anybody else to hear me stammering out my questions? (Shudder!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

