Book progess

The Gilmore Girls Companion is really starting to come together now.

As you will see with this entry, I’ve given up trying to chart progress in individual chapters. This is because those chapters will probably be changing as the book evolves. I’m also finding myself working on several chapters at once, which is an interesting experience.

‘Anatomy of an Episode’
Perhaps the chapter I’m most proud of so far is something that I’m calling “Gilmore Girls: Anatomy of an Episode” right now, though this title really has to change (suggestions keenly encouraged). This part, probably the longest in the book, takes readers through nearlyevery stage of the making of an episode of Gilmore Girls, from the writing process all the way to the editing of that episode.

Here are today’s stats:

Today’s total: 1,544 words

To Date: 5,152 words


  1. zoran
    August 9, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Do you have a particular episode in mind, or is it a general observation of the process? If you have a specific ep that is explanatory for most aspects, you could title the chapter like the episode. I’m just asking.

  2. August 9, 2009 at 6:30 am

    The problem I’m having is that it’s not one specific episode; it covers how most episodes were done.

    At first I was going to pick one episode and just run through the creation process from beginning to end. But then it became very obvious to me that there was no one episode that deserved that treatment. Even if I say “This is just an example,” the fact that I’ve singled out this one episode above all others just doesn’t feel right.

    But that’s part of what this whole “collaborative process” is all about, right? Share my mania πŸ˜‰

  3. zoran
    August 9, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Next you have the question if this scheme applies to TV in general, or it is Gilmore specific. (16 hour work days) I get that you could not pick a single episode, people would have been keen or would not.

    • August 10, 2009 at 6:18 am

      A lot of it applies to the making of 1-hour TV shows in general, though GG’s hours were excessive even for that medium.

  4. Lori
    August 9, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Hi Aaron! I’m guessing that the easiest way to do this chapter would be to write about the creation of an episode from beginning to end without actually divulging a particular episode. This way, readers will understand the process without you having to single out a specific episode, since they are all awesome, in my opinion. You could give specific examples, if you have quotes from your interviews regarding the process from the folks actually involved. They would make nice annecdotes without picking one particular episode to focus on. I hope I make sence. I’m on vacation right now and my mind is scattered! Lol!

    • August 10, 2009 at 6:19 am

      Thanks, Lori. It sounds like everyone’s in agreement about keeping it general. Now for heaven’s sake, go enjoy the rest of your vacation πŸ™‚

  5. August 10, 2009 at 2:12 am

    You could ‘Sondheim’ it:
    “Putting it together – The puzzle that is Gilmore Girls”

    [sings]
    Bit by bit, Putting it together
    Piece by piece, only way to make a work of art
    Every moment makes a contribution,
    Every little detail plays a part.
    Having just a vision’s no solution,.
    Everything depends on execution
    Putting it together, that’s what counts!
    [/sings]

    …hmm…

    “What Lies Beneath” would be a nice title too, I’d say.
    Even though I’d like the ‘puzzle’ one better.

  6. August 10, 2009 at 6:21 am

    You and your Broadway show tunes, Cira πŸ˜‰

    I like the “Putting it Together” idea, though I shall refrain from song — it is for the greater good, I promise you.

    • August 10, 2009 at 6:37 am

      Yeah well, I can’t help it. πŸ˜‰

      I think it’s a saying, so it wouldn’t _have_ to be a reference to the song.

      I just thought that ‘putting together’ an episode is like a jigsaw puzzle. So if you don’t want to talk about the ‘anatomy’ of an episode, “putting it together” would be …. next of kin?

  7. August 10, 2009 at 6:41 am

    And less gory than “anatomy.” After years of Law & Order and CSI, I should probably keep clear of anything that sounds so much like an autopsy (shudder)…

    • August 10, 2009 at 10:06 am

      *lol* DEFINITELY less gory.

      Great now I have pictures in my head. Not nice, Aaron!

  8. August 10, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Funny how I always seem to get blamed for the funhouse that is your mind, Cira (hee hee).

    • August 10, 2009 at 12:24 pm

      Funhouse … oh yeah, that’s about right.
      I am a weirdo… but you gotta love me. πŸ˜‰

      And I need someone to blame … you always come in handy. *giggles*

      *hands you flower* You know how much I like you!

  9. Lori
    August 10, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Hey! You guys are having way too much fun without me! Hi Cira! *waves* Aaron, I’d definitely avoid the gory anatomy references! I like Cira’s “Putting it together–the puzzle that is Gilmore Girls” idea much better. Only Dr. G. should be talking about anatomy and if she’s doing any Gilmore Girls autopsies, I’ll be the one running in circles screaming like a little girl! Lol! And you thought Cira’s mind was a funhouse!

  10. August 11, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Egads, Lori. Sounds like less a funhouse and more one of those haunted houses neighborhoods put together each Halloween to frighten little kids. Eeeeek!!

  11. Lori
    August 11, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Now Aaron, the denizens of Stars Hollow are far more twisted than me! Remember Babette was going to execute poor Morey on a gallows in her front yard for the entertainment of the neighborhood kiddies, and Lorelai was going to experiment on Luke including pulling link sausages from him! Halloween in the Hollow was probably more fun than any haunted house I’ve ever been through! I can’t wait to read how they created an episode of the wonderfulness we call Gilmore Girls. I’m sure it was hard work, but incredibly interesting and fun too.

  12. August 12, 2009 at 6:09 am

    And what wonderful Halloween memories those are, Lori.

    I know it was 7 years and all, but when you mention things like this, it always floors me just HOW MUCH they managed to jam into 7 years!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

