Kelly Bishop: The Anti-Emily

gilmoregirls_11

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I spoke with Kelly Bishop this afternoon. Yes, I know these are actors who have played many different roles throughout their professionals lives. But she is just so good at breathing life into Lorelai’s perpetually-disappointed, ever-disapproving mom, Emily. Yes, I will admit that a part of me was worried that I was going to get that “more beer, Luke” tone of Emily’s, and then of course I would have to break down and cry. (There’s just no coming back from that during an interview…)

Imagine my relief when she turned out to be as gracious and witty as her on-screen persona is stern and dismissive. I’m very appreciative of her wonderful insights into everything from the reason for Emily’s behavior to the 16-hour days she regularly endured during the series. Special thanks for many entertaining behind-the-scenes stories about the making of Gilmore Girls.

For more on the wonderful Kelly Bishop, please visit this information-packed Web site about her career, created by friend of The Gilmore Girls Companion Cira.

  1. zoran
    July 22, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I swear, my second guess was Kelly Bishop. Also, Lauren gave so many interviews, you could assemble something contributory from it. (please, go for the real thing)

  2. Aaron
    July 22, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Yes, it’s always better to speak with people directly rather than going through published interviews. And by the way, Miss Bishop is very aware and appreciative of her German fans, too. (Note: Zoran knows that I’m fascinated by Gilmore Girls’ strong international fan base.)

  3. Lori
    July 22, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    It’s ironic that you mention Cira’s Kelly Bishop site. I happen to know Cira! I beta her fan fiction stories on fanfiction.net! We chat online a lot. She’s so cool. You must have felt honored to get an interview with Kelly! Maybe Kelly could get you in with Lauren? She and Lauren are good friends. That would be amazing to get an interview with Lauren for the book! It’s so exciting to see how this book is progressing! I can’t wait to read it.

  4. Aaron
    July 22, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Ha ha, agreed, Lori — Cira is very cool, and I do indeed feel honored to speak with Miss Bishop, and indeed everyone else from the show. Thank you for following the book’s progress, too.

    What is really inspiring to me is that these are people, every one of them, who took big risks to get where they are today. It’s sometimes easy to forget that it’s a rough business; what keeps most people going is a belief in the show.

    What we get in the finished product is down to so many people, from the cast members to the people who light each shot, who make sure the wardrobe works, who direct the episodes, pull focus, edit the resulting video — so many different people have to come together to make it work.

    Makes ya think 😉

  5. July 23, 2009 at 1:48 am

    *lol*
    I’m not ‘cool’, Lori … even though I had to grin in circles when reading it. Don’t let me fool you; part of me is somewhat proud that you think so. ;o)

    Thanks for the mention, Aaron! I am very proud to be hostess of the Kelly Bishop website!

    Isn’t Ms B just marvelous?
    She is just the right mix of smart, witty, kind and -in my case- patient.
    I was determined to buy your book before, but to know that there’s going to be first-hand information given by Kelly Bishop is another point to add to my evergrowing list of reasons. :oD
    I can’t wait to hear what she had to say!

    Lori is right, maybe you can get hold of Lauren through Ms Bishop. I know they have stayed in touch, so who knows…

    • Aaron
      July 23, 2009 at 5:38 am

      She is indeed marvelous, Cira. As for Lauren, that would be wonderful, most definitely. Wish me luck, for I will continue to try.

  6. zoran
    July 23, 2009 at 10:22 am

    You know, at some point, hearing about all the wonderful people that were involved in making the show, me wonders what the show would have been like with different actors involved. This is a serious thought, I’m trying to imagine how other actors I have seen in other shows would have fit in, in certain roles. Unfortunately, my imagination isn’t the best concerning that. Do you have any similar thoughts? Or would the show have lasted so long, if it weren’t for this particular cast? I hope I’m not throwing you off.

  7. Aaron
    July 23, 2009 at 11:54 am

    It’s never really occurred to me, which may be because everyone seemed so right for their part. Usually in such series, there’s always at least one or two people who seem miscast, but I just don’t get that here.

    That said, other people did make it down to the final cut during casting, especially for the roles of Lorelai and Rory. (More about that in the book 😉

  8. zoran
    July 23, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Now you made me curious!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment