Home > The Gilmore Girls Companion > Why a Book About Gilmore Girls?

Why a Book About Gilmore Girls?

It’s a question I’ve been asked a few times since starting this project, and certainly there is more than one answer:

  • Gilmore Girls is a groundbreaking show that remains an important cultural experience for many fans around the world
  • The story of the making of this series has never before been explored in any serious detail
  • If the author hadn’t started this project, he would most likely drive away his friends and loved ones with his constant need to discuss the series

However, there’s another reason that was the real clincher for me.

Several months before I started work on The Gilmore Girls Companion, I’d begun conducting interviews for another behind-the-scenes book, this one about the classic American sitcom Soap (which also will be forthcoming next year).

I had the good fortune to speak in depth with such acting greats as Katherine Helmond (Jessica), Robert Mandan (Chester), Robert Guillaume (Benson), Jay Johnson (Chuck and “Bob”) and so many others, as well as the show’s creator, Susan Harris. As strong as each person’s memories of this series were, as sparkling as their anecdotes about the making of this pivotal series were, there were still many details that the passage of 30 years had simply erased. Unfortunately, the years had seen the deaths of several members of the cast as well, forever concealing those memories from us all.

After a few months of these interviews, I realized that I, at least, wanted to know what went on behind the scenes in Stars Hollow, what the actors thought of their experiences there, and how so many different people in front of and behind the camera came together to create such an important part of our culture. And I had a feeling that I wasn’t alone in this.

Certainly there are many who believe that television is nothing more than frivolous entertainment, and that there are far more deserving subjects of documentation. But if you’ve smiled at the memory of a funny line from Gilmore Girls months after watching it, used a scene from it to illustrate a point in a discussion, or felt like an idiot for tearing up at a sad moment from the show, yet savored that moment, too, you know that these things DO matter. And you will understand why I had to write this book.

  1. Marci Iversen
    September 24, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    As a huge fan of Gilmore Girls, I am very excited to get your book. I agree that it was a ground breaking show.
    There have been many rumours stating Lauren and Scott did not get along, and the reason for the breakup of Luke and Lorelai in season 7 was due to the fact Lauren did not want to work with Scott as much. I was wondering if you have any insight into this and if you will be addressing it in your book?

  2. Aaron
    September 24, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I’m sorry, Marci, but I’m afraid I can’t offer any insights into those rumors.

    While “The Gilmore Girls Companion” will offer a pretty detailed history of the show based on dozens of interviews, it’s really going to concentrate more on the day-to-day memories of the cast and crew concerning how this show actually came together, and less about any personal issues that arose during the process.

    I made a decision pretty early on that the book would avoid any “kiss and tell” elements that, aside from ruffling feathers, would take the emphasis off “Gilmore Girls” itself.

  3. Liza De Vera
    October 3, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Hi I am a fan of Gilmore Girls. Do you think I can get a copy of this book when it’s out? I live here in the Philippines and I would want to be one of the first people to get your book.

    More power…

  4. Aaron
    October 5, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    You are extremely kind, Liza. I’m sure we can get you a copy when it’s published in July. After all, a book is only worthwhile if it’s read.

  5. March 20, 2009 at 3:24 am

    Hello, I’m Chloie. I’m a pretty majore Gilmore Girls fan and always wanted to know more about the behind the scenes world of the show but was disappointed to find that it was never talked about much so I’m very interested in this companion and would like to thank you for making it.

    I was just wondering how one might go around to getting this book?

    • Aaron
      March 20, 2009 at 7:53 am

      Hi Chloie,

      That’s pretty much why I’m writing the book — I always wanted to know more about how it all came together than just what was said in a few newspaper and magazine interviews. The Gilmore Girls Companion is coming out later this year — initially it was supposed to be in June, but it’s looking like it will be closer to September because I want to base it on as many interviews as I possibly can. You can pre-order it here. Thank you for writing!

  6. Cheri
    December 4, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I pre-ordered this book before the original assumed publishing date of July 2009 and have not heard anything as to when it will actually be published and sent. Can you update me with this information please. I am really anxious to read it and see the pictures that will be in it.

    • December 5, 2009 at 7:33 am

      Hi Cheri,

      Apologies to you and everybody else for the delay in the publishing of The Gilmore Girls Companion.

      The level of research necessary to get the true story of Gilmore Girls out there has required many more interviews than I originally anticipated — 35 and counting as of yesterday. To give you some perspective, my most recent book, The New Horror Handbook, is a near-complete retelling of the twists and turns of the horror film genre of the last 15 years, and only required a little over a year to complete.

      I hope the finished Gilmore Girls Companion will more than make up for the delays involved in producing it. I can promise you that no matter how die-hard a fan you are of Gilmore Girls, you will learn several things about the making of this wonderful show that you did not know before.

      In the meantime, I’ve done my best to keep everybody apprised of the book’s progress through this blog, on Twitter, as well as through the book’s Facebook page. As always, if there’s anything else I can do to keep you all “in the loop,” please feel free to let me know. And always feel free to drop me a line at asberman813 (at) gmail.com.

      Best wishes,
      Aaron

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

